IMPOSSIBLE

With man it is impossible, but with God all things are possible

Last week as my sister Laura, and brothers John and Jude dropped me off at LAX, one of the last songs we listened to was a song by Kari Jobe called Healer.

I’ve had this song in my head for the last week. It’s literally been on repeat on my iPod. One of my favorite parts of the song is where she repeats, “nothing is impossible for you”. It has been such an encouraging reminder while here at camp.

I have officially gone through 6 days of training and made it through 6 completely different workout regiments. So my body is currently trying to figure out what is going on… to put it plainly — I am completely sore. 🙂

Aside from kicking our butts daily during our training sessions, one of the really cool things that Coach Innocent has been doing is inviting previous World Champions and Olympic medalists to come and speak with us and encourage us with their individual stories. This week we had two amazing world-class athletes share their stories with us: Nigerian and Great Brittain Track and Field legends Charlton Ehizuelen, and Derek Redmond.

Mr. Charlton Ehizuelen is known as the only African jumper in the history of Track and Field to ever make the cover of Track and Field News magazine. He competed in the Big 10 for Illinois in the 70s and was a 4x NCAA Champion. He is also responsible for breaking Carl Lewis’ NCAA record in the Long Jump.

Some points he made that stood out to me were:

  • We all need to “earn the right to maximize our potential”
  • Take each training session as if it were competition
  • A flag is raised and a national anthem is played in only two scenarios:
  1. When the President arrives
  2. In Sports and Competitions
  • As athletes we are ambassadors of our sports.

Here’s a picture of some of the athletes with Mr. Ehizuelen:

The other legend that we had come in to speak with us was Mr. Derek Redmond. Before I say much more about him, take 30 seconds to watch this video:

Mr. Redmond is a retired British Athlete and former 400m World Champion. He is most known for his performance in the Semi Finals of the 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games. Although he was favored to medal, he pulled his hamstring during the Semi-Final round. 13 surgeries later, doctors told him he would never recover from the hamstring injury and never represent his country again.

but with God all things are possible…

He found a new avenue and went on to compete professionally and represent his country in the English Basketball League. He currently is a professional motivational speaker and travels internationally to encourage others with his story.

A few things he said that stood out to me were:

  • To get something you never had before, you have to do something you have never done before.

  • Do all your hard work on the track during practice, the harder you work in practice, the better you compete in meets
  • Be physically and MENTALLY in shape… (he said the reason he got up to finish the race after he tore his hamstring was because Mentally he believed that if he started running, he could still catch his competition)
Here are some pictures of Mr. Redmond after he spoke with us:
I’m so grateful to have these inspirational speakers take their time to motivate us through their stories.
Tomorrow I’m competing in a track meet at the University of Auburn in Alabama. The meet is a little over an hour away, so we plan on driving there in the morning. Coach Innocent wants us to train through the meet and has entered all of us in 200m.

My prayer is from Hebrews 12:1-2 that, I will “run with perseverance the race marked out for me. Fixing my eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of my faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God

Tomorrow is also the day before Easter. This passage has been perfect in reminding me of what Christ did for us over 2000 years ago. And so as I compete tomorrow and as I train through this camp, I pray that God would allow me to focus on Christ, and for the joy set before me (Summer Olympics) strengthen me to endure my cross (the pains and soreness). For with man, it is impossible, but with God… all things are possible.

Thanks for reading, and I’ll talk to you guys soon 🙂

Here are some pictures of me “enduring the pain” (don’t let the smile fool you lol) :

By run4theprize

5 comments on “IMPOSSIBLE

  1. With that smile on your face……… I know that it is a good pain and with tears in my eyes and a smile I know that you are putting everything out there for this goal. I am so lucky to be a witness to it. Thank you Liz! You Go Girl…Keep it up!

  2. What an amazing first week!! Run like the wind tomorrow! And,hey. . . enjoy that ice bath. NOT!! Brrrrrrrrrrrr!

  3. Liz love the picts, Im dying to know how yr training is going! Yr a beast…I think of you when I need to find strength. I picture you there, telling me, “dont stop, you can do it!”. NO EXCUSES!!!! =)

  4. So proud of u! Thanks for representing us Valley kids so well and of course thanks for representing the Messiah on the track!
    Love,
    The Taylors

Leave a Reply

