NO MAN’S LAND

An area of uncertainty or ambiguity, an unclaimed or unknown area

I’m finding that when adjusting to a program where sprinting is an everyday thing, the body’s initial response is to fight against the change, to resist the new program and as a result to be very sore and tight. The ultimate goal is that the body would eventually adapt to the change, and that the change would become a new norm… However before the body surrenders to the new program, there is a short time where the body is neither resisting, nor succumbing… it’s just straight up confused. This state of confusion is what my coach calls “No Man’s Land” — and I am officially there….

My body is in shock. It’s in a different type of pain, yet still responding and working in ways that I never thought possible. I’m learning to wisely push through pains and to rely on Christ more and more as my only source of strength.

I competed last weekend at Auburn  in a 200m. I haven’t trained for a 200 in over 2 years. I ran a second slower than  my personal best, and my initial response was frustration. It’s such a humbling experience to know that the 16-year-old version of myself would have beaten me in that race.  But after talking to my Coach, I was able to change my perspective and realize that the race was just another step in the right direction. He encouraged me to look at the bigger picture and to trust that God’s just getting started with me.

This week I have been echoing the prayer of the apostle Paul for encouragement. He says in Philippians 1:6 “Being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus”

While I was competing last saturday, I had 2 of my clients from 24 Hour Fitness run in the Hollywood Half Marathon. For Melissa (on the left) , it was the 1st she’s ever done… when we started working together in January of 2011 she could barely run for a minute and a half… and for the Jenn (on the right), she’s completed close to 30 marathons! She currently  helps pace people in her running club. Before I left for Atlanta, I got to introduce them to each other in hopes that they would be able to encourage each other and train together. They sent me this picture of them before the race on saturday:

After leaving Auburn, we stopped by a house in Georgia where one of Coach’s friends was kind enough to cater dinner for us.

We’ve been getting Nigerian food at least 4 days a week, so I was actually more excited to see the salad!!!

—–

Greatest man in history, named Jesus.
Had no servants, yet they called Him Master.
Had no degree, yet they called Him Teacher.
Had no medicines, yet they called Him Healer.
He had no army, yet kings feared Him.
He won no military battles, yet He conquered the world.
He committed no crime.. Yet they crucified Him.
He was buried in a tomb, yet He lives today.

This was the 1st Easter I have ever spent away from my family. Traditionally when back in L.A,  I always got up really early on Easter morning and made a huge breakfast for my entire family. Then I would wake them up, and we would eat together before going to church. The best part about it is has to be watching my parents act surprised, despite the fact that I’ve repeatedly done it since I was like 12.

So when Sunday morning came around, I still wanted to have my “Easter breakfast”, so this was my little taste of home:

After breakfast, we headed to church as a group. We were invited to attend service with Mrs. Sholla (she is the lady that helps cater Nigerian food to our hotel for dinners about 3x a week). Here are some pics of the group after service.

Technology is pretty amazing. My mom always used to joke around years ago about how someday people would get to look at each other while they talked on the phone…. well thank the Lord for Skype and FaceTime and for making “someday” into a reality… I got to “spend” easter sunday with my family after all. 🙂

Later that day, we went Moorehouse University to get treatment in their training room. This was probably one of the coldest ice-bath’s I’ve been in. My feet were numb for days (..no really though, not exaggerating–days)

A lot of you gave me heat for smiling in ice bath’s, so here’s a more accurate pic for you:

That’s my teammate, James. He’s a quarter-miler also but wasn’t bold enough to get in waist-deep.

had to do it 🙂



Aside from getting in the whirlpool we get rubbed out by a one of the trainers at Moorehouse, Mr. Dumas . The massage is probably more painful than the ice bath, i mean definitely more painful than the ice bath…but it always has me feeling better afterwards. Later in the week, we found out it was his birthday, and so Coach surprised him at lunch with this:

So that’s been my week in a nutshell. We’re currently training to compete at the Mt.SAC relays. It’s next weekend in Walnut, California. For more info on the meet, check out this link: www.mtsacrelays.com
 We aren’t competing this weekend but doesn’t mean we get a break from the program. Please continue to keep all of us in your prayers. Specifically please be praying for our upcoming meets, for an injury free season, and for strength to get through each of these workouts.
Thank you so much for reading.
By run4theprize

Leave a Reply

