CIRCUMSTANCES

Gaze upon the Lord & Glance at your circumstances

2 months ago, I moved from Los Angeles to Atlanta to join the Nigerian Training Camp for the 2012 Olympics. It has been such an amazing opportunity and blessing from God to be a part of this program. I’ve been challenged in new ways and able to watch my body get through workouts that seemed impossible.

Although I am still chasing the Olympic Standards, I’ve learned that with or without it, God’s going to do what he said he would do. He’s the reason I’ve been a part of this camp, and He’s the reason I’m getting flown to Nigeria. It’s funny, because sometimes I wonder if he’s kept me from running the standard at this time so that I have absolutely NO room for pride… I mean now there’s no way I can say that its by my work or merit that I am here… because on paper, looking at my circumstances– i don’t deserve to be here. But I guess that’s how God works.

1 Corinthians 1:27-29 tells me that God chooses the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; He chooses the weak things of the world to shame the strong. He chooses the lowly things of the world and the despised things- and the things that are not- to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him.

My mantra for this 2012 track season has been “Run For The Prize”…. It’s from the passage that says “Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever… Lately Coach Innocent has constantly reminded me that in this race I am running, in this journey for an eternal prize I must fix my eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of my faith… He reminds me to Gaze upon the Lord and to Glance at my circumstances.

After being here for 2 months I find myself in a situation where my circumstances seemed daunting. I have only competed three times, and only run the 400 twice.

My normal program involved me competing on a weekly basis in multiple races at a time. My training was at a different tempo and I would use competition to really watch my times drop over the season. But now, this program is set up to have me peek at a later point in the season. To allow training to be as difficult as competitions and to get ready for the grueling rounds during the trials and the Olympic games.

About a week ago the majority of the athletes in the Atlanta camp returned to Nigeria and were merged into the training camp there. There are several competitions in June in Nigeria so the hope is to finally witness all the training manifest itself in a race.

I waited for about a week in limbo not knowing if I’d be asked to join the others in Nigeria. But as of yesterday night, I got another one of those life changing phone calls. I was given permission to compete in Nigeria and would be flown out in less than 24 hours!

—-

My sister recently shared this with me… “During this time the Lord provided a sign for the Israelites- a cloud- to assure them that He was with them. Whenever the cloud lifted above the tabernacle, the people knew it was time to move on. However, when the cloud stood still, they set up camp and remained there until the cloud lifted again. Sometimes the cloud hovered over the tabernacle from evening until the next morning. Other times it stayed for a month or longer. The Israelites didn’t know when they would go or where they would be going. They had absolutely no control or say in the matter. They lived day by day in complete dependence on the guidance of the Lord. And yet, despite the uncertainty and inconvenience of this lifestyle, they obeyed” (Numbers 9:15-23)

Although It’s intimidating, I took this time to remember what my coach told me… Gaze upon the Lord, and glance at your circumstances…

  • God has definitely called me to do something amazing this year:
    • When God called Abraham , he asked him to leave everything behind and set out for a new land. (Genesis 12)
  • Despite having little to no notice, I realize that this is another opportunity for me to have faith
    • Joseph and Mary were told to escape to Egypt in a dream, they literally left in the middle of the night (Matthew 2:13-14)

God never changes, He’s the same yesterday today and forever. He still calls people to get up and move at the drop of a dime… and best of all He’s still in the miracle making business 🙂

I couldn’t even begin to tell you the number of things that God has lined up as only He can. But i will share the most recent one with you.

—-

I’m sitting in the Atlanta Airport currently waiting for my flight to Lagos, Nigeria. The funny thing about that is that my itinerary log and my email ticket confirmation both say that I have a confirmed flight through Amsterdam, and an extremely long layover before arriving in Lagos Saturday night. This would make things very difficult for me to meet up with the others in the camp before Sunday. But as God would have it, when I scanned my passport at the check in counter, my ticket was changed. I noticed that the ticket only said Atlanta to Lagos and there was no second ticket for Amsterdam. I figured it was some kind of mistake and proceeded to my gate to board the plane. When I got to the gate I found out that my ticket was changed and I somehow am now on the direct flight from Atlanta to Lagos!!! Instead of leaving Atlanta at 7:50pm tonight, I won’t be leaving until 10:45pm. But despite the 3 hour delay, I am going to be landing in Lagos 1/2 a day earlier!

God works in mysterious ways, I was secretly praying that I had more time before I left. I still had a ton of phone calls to make, bills to pay online and of course I wanted an opportunity to update my blog before leaving the country. 🙂

Ooh another thing, I found out that two of my cousins are leaving the United States tonight and also visiting Nigeria. I have no idea how long ago they planned their trip, but what are the odds that they would literally be leaving the exact weekend as me?? I get to see my family after all 🙂

My parents left Nigeria in 1994 and brought the entire family to California. I have basically been there ever since. I’m so grateful that 18 years later I get to go back to where it all started!

I’m still uncertain of all the details, but there is not a doubt in my mind that the Lord is leading me. and so I will live day by day in complete dependence on His guidance.

Thank you so much for taking time out to read my blog and for all of your support. Please continue to keep me in your prayers. Please pray for my patience, that I would remain confident in the fact that God is in complete control. Please pray for my health, that I would be stronger and healthier than I’ve ever been [and that all those immunization shots do their job 🙂 ].. and lastly please pray for my speed… that God would equip me to run faster than I even believe possible, and that He would continue to keep me focused on Him.

Thank you!!


By run4theprize

2 comments on “CIRCUMSTANCES

  1. Hi Liz 🙂 As I read your blog I felt led to share a verse with you and another one that I wanted to remind you of!!!

    Ecclesiastes 3:11 “He has made everything beautiful in its time.”

    and

    Ephesians 3:20 “Now to him who is able to do IMMEASURABLY more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.”

    SO excited about this journey He has gracefully put you on…love you!

Leave a Reply

