COMMENCEMENT (2/3)- Miracle

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your request to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

-Philippians 4:6-7

Part 2 of 3: I need a Miracle

The Grand Prix meet  was an international meet and athletes were flown in to Nigeria from over six different countries. Most of the athletes coming in would be staying at the Bridgeview Hotel. So the AFN gave me the choice of moving back there. Being that they had free internet, I packed up the few things that I unpacked, and moved again :). Surprisingly, when I got to the hotel I met some of my friends from back home at the hotel. One was running for Liberia, and another for the United States. It was pretty cool to see familiar faces on the other side of the world.

The Grand Prix was definitely a turning point for me. I felt my left hamstring tighten up mid race, and had an internal battle about whether or not I should stop running and call for the medics, or just finish. I ended up finishing the race, not knowing my place or my time.. and honestly not caring. The only thing I wanted at that moment  was the Medic. I got on their table, and after putting me through a few tests, they concluded that my right hamstring (which should be my stronger leg)- was super tight and weak… and my left hamstring was strained (which is a nicer way of saying slightly torn).

I later found out that since it was a Grand Prix meet the top 6 athletes in each event would be getting paid. Miraculously, despite running one of the slowest 400s I have run in a while, God took care of me and allowed me to get 5th place.. which meant and I got paid!

The Grand Prix was on a Thursday the 14th, and the All Nigerian National Olympic Trials were moved from the 21st to the 19th. This gave me only five days to do whatever I needed to do to get my leg as strong and healed as possible…. I needed a miracle.

Ice was my best friend. I went to the athletic trainers daily, and went through the most painful “massage” in an attempt to flush out any knots and excess pressure on my hamstrings.

On Sunday the 17th all the athletes and coaches packed up and loaded several buses and headed to Calabar for the trials. It was an 8 hour road trip.

We stayed at the Tinapa Resort. It was definitely the nicest hotel so far.


We went to the stadium to get our final practice in before the trials. At this point, it hurt for me to jog! I walked around the track, visualizing my race, and then lightly stretched… i needed a MIRACLE!

The night before the 1st round of the 400, I went to sleep at peace. I had prayed until the point of tears… and I knew there was nothing left for me to do. For the 1st time in my life, I was not anxious and over analyzing the race I had to run. My mind was clear and I held on to Phillipians 4:6 & 7.

Coach said that I should make a decision in the morning, and I knew that if I felt the same pain the following morning that had kept me from jogging, and if I couldn’t get through a proper warm-up, then I would not compete.

I went to sleep completely overwhelmed in peace.

As I opened my eyes the next morning, one of the first things I did while still in bed was was stretch out my leg….

it was gone.

the pain was gone!!!… I needed a miracle, and I got it!

I jumped out of bed and started reaching for my toes. For the last 5 days this task was IMPOSSIBLE ( I could probably get my hands to my shins before feeling extreme pain) but this morning, my fingers were touching my toes and I felt great!

… to be continued

By run4theprize

3 comments on “COMMENCEMENT (2/3)- Miracle

Leave a Reply

